Author Topic: Player Physics  (Read 4836 times)

ThomasMonroe

• very personal text
    • View Profile
    • Minetest
Player Physics
« on: July 25, 2017, 04:21:22 pm »
Please understand that i know that the physics of a game makes the game, but i have some suggestions for the player physics.
And also i am no newbie to Voxel-based games.  ;)

I find it odd that going up stairs is a real pain if you don't have a ceiling to stop yourself from going too high, but then that same ceiling limits how fast you can go down stairs. For me i think the most annoying thing in the game is that and the next point i will make.

When I want to get from my water source in the next zone and back again, it takes me a long time, I am suggesting make a power that allows you to run when a certain key combo is pressed.  ;D

And also i am left handed, so pressing left shift while i use the arrow keys, and use the mouse is impossible, so can you make that key customizable?

Enigma

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Player Physics
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2017, 10:42:52 am »
Hi, ThomasMonroe and welcome to the Blackvoxel Forum  :)

We understand what you said about the left handed users. So, the team decided to make something. A customisable input system is already in the todo list, but taking in account the priorities, it may take some time. In the meantime, what we can do is adding the right shift key as a "quick fix" for an upcomming version.

For the points related to travelling time, we are not surprised that players accustomed to other voxel games can be slightly lost. Blackvoxel is a very different game with very different paradigms and gameplay. Much more different than most player could think at first sight.